light green ‘sea dragon’ purse

3d6185ca28b7541f4f35fc8e18ff4228

This is the purse I use most of the time lately.

It started with the cross stitch dragon/sea serpent in the middle, and then I needed something to DO with it. I had planned to just make a coin purse but I couldn’t figure out how to make the metal frame fit so I added borders around it to make it a little bit bigger and then used the whole thing as the middle panel of a purse. The light weight canvas fabric I used for the purse wasn’t big enough to cut the strap as one piece. That’s why I added cross stitch inserts to make it look like the pieced strap was planned from the start instead of something that I HAD to do.

The chart for the dragon was found on Ravelly and was created for fillet crochet instead of cross stitch. The chart for the “vines” border came from a book of Celtic designs I bought years ago. That chart is one I use even more than the one for the Celtic hounds. The other charts are vintage and I don’t know where they came from originally.

The purse’s lining fabric is a light-green print cotton and the strap is backed with ivory grosgrain ribbon. There’s an exposed zipper in the top.

I recently stitched up another dragon – without all the borders – but in dark blue on a pale silver-gray background and I am going to make another purse with it. I’m not sure if I want to use denim or dark blue velveteen for the body of the purse.

Leave a Reply

