I’m forever stitching buttons…

I am always looking for new things to make with cross stitch. I like the way biscornus (those little decorative maybe-pincushion things) look but I don’t have any use for them and small decorative things don’t last long in my house because of the Tiny Tigers of Doom. (Sorry, one of them says he’s a panther not a tiger – my bad.) And sometimes I want to make something besides bookmarks. Don’t get me wrong, I like making bookmarks. But sometimes I want to stitch something that isn’t a long narrow border design…

A couple weeks ago I had an idea – cross stitch on fabric covered buttons.

That’s what I’ve been making lately.

And as it turns out I have plenty of very small charts in my “stash” – they have to be smaller than 48 stitches across, MAX, because that’s the most that will fit on the largest cover button forms I can find. Even ones for 7/8 inch button forms can’t be more than 28 stitches and those would have to be stitched on 32 count linen – for 28 count fabric they have to be less than 24 stitches across.

So far I’ve made some roses and other flowers plus a set of little Celtic knots. And yesterday I started working on a bookmark to take a SHORT break from stitching buttons.

One thought on “I’m forever stitching buttons…

Leave a Reply

