My first blog post and I have no idea what I’m doing…

A friend talked me into having my own blog so I have a place to share my needleworking projects.

My latest project isn’t something fun. You know how if you can sew there is always someone who wants you to mend or alter something? I just finished altering a cloak that was made for a LARPer (by someone else!) but it didn’t fit him because it was way too narrow in the shoulders, so I added arm slits in the front. I don’t have a picture of that, though, and it isn’t very interesting anyway. So here’s a photo of something I made a while ago:

art-nouveau-irises

This is a purse with cross stitch on the front from a chart published in 1905! The purse itself is about 6 inches square, so the embroidered part is about 5 inches. It is done in 28-count on cotton fabric. I love irises and I love Art Nouveau, so this chart was perfect for me. the size of the purse is perfect for me, too, because I don’t carry much stuff most of the time and a large purse makes no sense if it’s going to be mostly empty.

3 thoughts on “My first blog post and I have no idea what I’m doing…

  1. Welcome to blogging! I’m also a geek who does sewing/cross-stitch, but my projects are not very geeky in particular. Though I did just make a dice bag for my husband; I’m trying to put pictures of that on my blog soon.
    Anyways, I love that purse, and I can’t wait to see more of your stuff 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Dice bags are lots of fun to make. I used to have a different dice bag not just for each game system I played but also for each character. It’s not just a lady gamer thing, either – my husband plays miniature wargames, and he has one dice bag for Bolt Action (a mini “duffle bag) and another for Malifaux. Now he just needs one for EACH of his Warhammer 40K armies. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Ooh I like the idea of a bag for each character. This one was specifically for Exalted, because apparently he needs like 30 d10s to play that or something! He also has one made to look like chain mail 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

